12.18.2006

LHR

Last night we got to London and had to find our way with The Heaviest Suitcases of All Time from Stansted Airport to our hotel. I forgot to write down the address, so we looked it up at the airport and then took a bus. We finally got there after a trip on the tube and then went to eat dinner where I had my first Jacket Potato. Curry Style.

After that we got back on the tube and raced over to the Tate to see the Giant Slides in the main lobby (or whatever that mammoth area is called). I read that it closed for entrance at 5:15 so we literally ran from the tube stop, across the Millennium Bridge, through the "Frost Fair" where there were these crazy floating angels - people, maybe men in drag - and in. Johnny announced that her heart hurt from the cold air/running combo.

We barely made it, but we did get to see a few exhibits and we were Last In Line! for the slide. It was super fun and much faster than I anticipated - like a water park, but with your feet tucked into a burlap sack.

We got up early and took a cab to the airport for our 10:00 flight, just in time to realize that my dum-ass didn't read the paper and our flight isn't until 4! So now we've been sitting around the airport for lots o' hours because I'm not willing to leave here and go back to the city. We did get beer/cider and fish-n-chips and we'll be home soon!

12.16.2006

still going

We are now on the Emerald Coast on the island of Sardinia. Molto Bella!!! The "internet point" we are sitting in is actually right outside the dock where the ferry to Corsica is, but we decided not to go over there because we have to get to the airport tomorrow and still have several hours to drive back there.

Last night we stayed at a Hotel Delfino in this little town off the coast. We drank champagne on the balcony - it's still warm here (in the 60s) and it was really lovely.

The night before that I got to meet the family Johnny stayed with in Santu Lussurgiu - they made this big Italian dinner - homemade wine, lasagne, carne and peas, homemade cheese, fruit and a delicious torta, all served in courses. it was amazing and i got to really see Johnny's Italian language skills in action because only the kids in the family speak much English. It was really fun and there was crying when we finally left. We went to her friend's bed & breakfast, which was the nicest place we've stayed yet!) and had a delicious breakfast. This has been my favorite leg of the trip!

oh, btw, i did get some boots.

12.10.2006

barnacles!

We are having a great time, as you might know. Right now I'm in Venice, which is absolutely lovely, everything you'd expect. There are no cars and there are barnacles on chains near the water.

My new nephew came into the world on Dec 5th, so yay for that!

12.02.2006

italia e molto great-o

omg. italy is great. not that anyone has tried to tell you differently, but if they did, tell them to shut up.

Johnny and i just drank a bottle of wine outside a medieval church in Firenze (Florence). We have had two tonight and we are feeling pretty good, yo.

We saw The Birth of Venus, which, btw, Johnny drew on my sidewalk when we were dating (how sweet!) and some Rembrandt paintings at the Uffizi. We also saw the Leaning Tower in Pisa and tomorrow we head off to Roma. The hardest thing is not having cash to shop at the Dolce & Gabana and Pucci stores. Arg.

Maybe someday.

11.30.2006

out

You guys already know this, but i am a total dork. I was all packed at like, 10 am yesterday. i have finished all my work (that i am going to do) 45 minutes before i need to leave. i wrote a 3-page note to my house-sitting sister about using the washer, where the cookie sheets are, and best practices for changing the kitty litter.

i'm full-on excited.

11.28.2006

layers it is

i got johnny to agree to let me bring her jacket, but i thought it was blue, even though it is grey.

here's a photo of my luggage, fully packed:
DSCN6208

I will have to remove the toiletries and then add them back in, but I was test-driving it. I'm pretty proud of myself because this includes my own stuff, PLUS jeans and a sweatshirt for the lady. That gives me room to buy a pair of boots!

Also, have i mentioned recently that i am soon to be an aunt, yet again? my sister-in-law is about to pop, so it could be any day, hopefully tomorrow so i can see him for 1 minute before leaving. i was over there last week and i saw this house, newly decorated for xmas, in their subdivision:
DSCN6204
They might have the seasons mixed up.

Also, my sister, at t-day, made (what i interpreted to be) an allusion to possibly being pregnant again. she said, "i'm not drinking caffeine, that's all we're sayin'" and dramatically walked out of the room. you think?

11.27.2006

success

The mac and cheese was a hit! Thanks you guys!

The other food was good too, except that the pie I made was too custardy, but luckily I was the only one who tried it (my mom made this wonderful cheesecake that always steals the dessert show) so I just tossed it out. My brother and sister-in-law did pretty much every dish, which was awesome, so I just packed up the leftovers and sent them away.

Why, you ask?

Because I leave for Italia in tre giorni!! Johnny and I reviewed our itinerary today and added two additional cities because there is only one day that we can get in to see the Last Supper non-fresco, and it wasn't the day we originally planned to be in Milan. We will, therefore be adding a quick stop in Verona and La Spazia.

I am so excited.

I started packing up a little today and I am trying to take only a backpack and a small messenger-style bag. It's 18 days though. I'm trying anyway.

Here's a question. Do I take my winter coat (wool peacoat-style) with me or not? It's upper 40s-50s in Milan (north) and in the 60s in Rome and Naples. My other option is to take a denim jacket or something and layer it up. Or maybe I could take Johnny's jacket (lined, I'll have to ask). But the real question is, will I be more mad if I have to carry it around all the time, or if I am chilly?

WWYD?

11.21.2006

AMA and me

Okay, so mac & cheese it is!!

I decided (maybe unwisely) to watch the American Music Awards while I grade papers.

Why do the Pussycat Dolls suck so bad?

Eek!! I almost had to change the channel.
The only thing that even remotely redeemed the experience was that Tony Hawk introduced them and he looked kind of cute and seemed nervous.

11.20.2006

O-H

The football game was way fun. I went with a group of people to the gayest boy bar ever, and it was bizarrely full of queer men in football jerseys and other fan gear. There was also a local celebrity in our midst. That jerk won the OSU pillow that I completely could have used for my upcoming trip (that, by the way, I leave for in less than 2 weeks!!!). I drank a lot and was in bed by 10 pm.

It has happened that my family is coming to my house on saturday for thanksgiving dinner. I'm brining a turkey, making a pie from scratch (like, from a pumpkin), and steaming broccoli. I am oscillating between macaroni and cheese and this recipe in Metropolitan Home for coconut cashew rice. What do you think, mac & cheese, or rice?

11.15.2006

bike attack!

Last night I went to dinner with RedRider at a campus sushi joint and she walked me to the Wex for this beautiful Turkish movie that I'd planned to see. While we were walking, this person on a bike came careening out of No Where and tried to snatch my bag from my shoulder!!

Here's a slow-mo of what happened:
Bag is pulled off shoulder
I keep holding bag
I start yelling "No! No!"
Snatcher keeps holding bag
Bike falls down
I fall down
Hole is ripped in new skinny jeans
My favorite boots from Philly are scuffed
Snatcher is trapped under bike, still holding bag
RedRider's hands come into view, slapping Stealer
I'm trying to hit Snatcher to get her to let go of bag
Snatcher lets go
I start to get up
Snatcher says "My hand just got caught!"
Random guy tackles Snatcher
I stand up
Look at Random Guy on top of Snatcher
Hear Random Guy say "I saw you do it!"
Feel really pissed because she tried to steal my bag
Look at Snatcher still pinned to sidewalk
Pick up bike
Think, "This is a nice bike"
Throw bike over bike rack into short brick wall.

Yes, you can read that last one again.

After all that, Random comes up to see if I'm okay and Snatcher simply gets her bike and rides off, calling us bitches.

The weirdest part about this is that later, I realized that Snatcher looked familiar, like someone I once knew from here, who, coincidentally, used to have a job which involved riding a bike.

So now my knees are all bruised and skinned up, but I still have my license and credit card that I'll certainly need for my trip to see Johnny in two weeks and now I can buy another pair of jeans without guilt. The silver lining.

11.13.2006

on television

This is old news, but I'm still relieved that Ohio didn't fail us! Go Dems!

I can't stop watching Heroes. The official site is "unavailable." Is anyone else watching this show? If not, you need to go get the DVDs as soon as they come out. Do it.

And football, there's lots of it! There is non-stop talk about the upcoming OSU v. Michigan game this saturday. They are ranked #1 and #2, so it promises to be exciting, but my main concern is where to go. I certainly can't stay home and watch by myself. I live pretty close to campus and there is a tendency to go a little overboard for this game: excessive drinking, yelling, screaming, burning cars... so I maybe don't want to deal with that.

But now, I'm going to give the dog a bath.

11.07.2006

voting in ohio, again

Luckily, I voted absentee before I left for my trip, but I'm already scared by the news I'm reading about how things are going in the OH.

11.06.2006

West coast sun

I'm in Emeryville, near San Francisco for a training for work. The weather is marvelous, it is about 70 and sunny - a far cry from the freezing temperatures in the o-to-the-h. I seem to have pretty good luck here with weather -- the last time I came was in June and it was uncharacteristically in the uppper 80s.

There's a full moon and it was shining across the bay as i rode the shuttle to the hotel. it was completely lovely and started me thinking about my upcoming trip to italy, where i hope to see many georgeous things. I woke up early (for here) and saw the sun rise.

At the training, i ran into a certain red-haired person who i used to work with, which was a nice surprise! we might try to have dinner.

does anyone have suggestions for areas of SF to go to for shopping? I'm hoping to go to a few local/interesting stores, but i'm not sure where to go, so if you have suggestions, please comment.

11.01.2006

whoa i am not a good blogger

ok, so here is what i have been doing:


  • Missing Johnny

  • I won tickets to see Tango Fire and while I was there, I saw a guy I used to dance with (we were slated to compete together when I decided to quit -- and I can't remember his name!!!) and also someone I knew from when I was in high school. We didn't go to school together, but our dads were preachers in neighboring churches, so we went on "mission trips" together and had teenager lock-ins. She is a massage therapist in my neighborhood and has the cutest little daughter who wore red glasses.

  • Grading papers!! Lots of papers!!

  • I'm leaving for the Bay Area on Sunday, for a work training. I'm excited to go somewhere. Zoey is staying with Scootking and Pixelville (Pixelville never updates her blog, so don't bother clicking).

  • Went to two Halloween events and didn't dress up for either one. I need to get a good inventory of possible costumes that I can reference in the future. If you have any ideas that I should use sometime, post a comment.

  • Got a haircut with new color! Photos forthcoming!

  • I forgot: I also moved offices last week. I'll post some photos of that too.

10.12.2006

dot matrix

I have this really old printer in my office. It's really, really old.

1012061109.jpg

I guess that the paper, the kind with the tractor feeds along the sides, was really expensive and I have a full box of it. Thus, I feel kind of obligated to use it up.

Today, I saw that someone had actually taped one section of paper to another, presumably to keep it continuous. I don't know how long ago this happened (this is a big box of paper I'm working with here) but it must have been a while.

I am appalled. I don't know why it is so annoying, but it really was. Especially when I tried to tear it apart and the tape ripped the page.

10.10.2006

white blazers and no socks

I'm sitting here grading papers and somehow stumbled across an episode of Miami Vice on the Sleuth Channel. I didn't know the Sleuth Channel existed, and I can't quite figure out why I (or anyone) ever thought Don Johnson was attractive. Or why he is reciting poetry.

Here's a little classic number for ya:

10.07.2006

it's a good one

I feel joyous today.

I went to dinner with friends last night, went out dancing, was able to sleep in this morning, and I'm drinking a smoothie (strawberry pineapple) and eating stir-fried green veggies (leftovers) for breakfast.

I got a lovely email message from my girlfriend, the sun is out, I borrowed a lawnmower from my neighbor, and there is football at 3:30.

These are all indications of a great weekend ahead.

10.04.2006

rain, rain, go away

I got a call yesterday from our friend who thought she was going into labor. We had this plan where I was going to watch her 18-month old during the delivery, so I went right over to pick him up. He's super cute and very good. I had already said I'd go to my coworker's house for a happy hour thing, so we headed over and he ate a bunch of grapes. He kept looking under the ottoman for the cat, everybody loved it.

I took him back home this morning but they didn't have the baby. I'm looking at this like a dress rehearsal.

Hail is crazy. We had this huge storm here a little while ago and there was mega-hail. I looked out the upstairs window and it was like those scenes in movies when the tennis balls are beating the hell out of the people on the court. The news has shown over 15 minutes of hail coverage, but here's my contribution to the mania:


And here, for comparison:


i heart fall.

10.02.2006

i miss everything

I'm watching the Eagles Monday night game and I really miss Philly.

I talked to Johnny for quite a while tonight and I miss her.

I tried to hurry up and get home, but I missed the bus.

Sunday, I went to my grandma's to see her, my sister and her family, and my other neices went too. We were two hours late, and almost missed lunch.

On the way back my oldest neice had a birthday party to go to at Libby Lu's. We were half an hour late and almost missed the first part of the party. I can't say what would have happened had I been able to have parties like this when I was a kid. She got dressed up in a "rock star" outfit and they got their hair and makeup done. Um, she's five. This is the big fancy mirror that they get to look in after they get all done up. The staging area had giant heart-shaped mirrors mounted at the perfect height for the young-uns. I felt a strange mix of repulsion and envy.

9.18.2006

Italy photos

Johnny asked me to post the links to these Italy photo albums for her:

Week 1

Week 2

Week 3